Search Our Website


Fair Pay and Safe Workplaces Rule Goes into Effect October 25

October 5 2016

A reminder to all TAUC members: under the Fair Pay and Safe Workplaces Executive Order (Executive Order 13673), which goes into effect Oct. 25, contractors seeking federal contracts worth at least $500,000 will have to disclose any of 14 established violations of workplace protections cited in the previous three years. Failure to comply may disqualify or delay contractors from procuring work.

The following is a list of the 14 federal laws:

  • Fair Labor Standards Act (FLSA);
  • Occupational Safety and Health Act of 1970 (OSH Act);
  • Migrant and Seasonal Agricultural Worker Protection Act (MSPA)
  • National Labor Relations Act (NLRA)
  • Davis-Bacon Act (DBA)
  • Service Contract Act (SCA)
  • Executive Order 11246 (Equal Employment Opportunity)
  • Section 503 of the Rehabilitation Act of 1973
  • Vietnam Era Veterans’ Readjustment Assistance Act of 1974 (VEVRAA)
  • Family and Medical Leave Act (FMLA)
  • Title VII of the Civil Rights Act of 1964 (Title VII)
  • Americans with Disabilities Act of 1990 (ADA)
  • Age Discrimination in Employment Act of 1967 (ADEA)
  • Executive Order 13658 (Establishing a Minimum Wage for Contractors)

The Department of Labor published the final guidance on August 25, 2016 to assist the Federal Acquisition Regulatory Council (the FAR Council) and Federal contracting agencies in the implementation of the Executive Order, effective October 25, 2016. A copy of the Federal Register of the guidance and rule can be found by clicking here.

Any current or prospective government contractor may voluntarily contact the Department of Labor to request an assessment of their record of labor law compliance. More information on the preassessment can be found by clicking here.

Share Online:
© Copyright 2024 TAUC. All Rights Reserved.
Site created by Top Shelf Design