Search Our Website


Roger Jayne Named TAUC Craftperson of the Year

May 13 2010

PHOENIX, ARIZ. – The Association of Union Constructors (TAUC) on May 13 presented Roger Jayne with the annual James J. Willis Craftperson of the Year Award during a special ceremony at the 2010 TAUC Leadership Conference.

Jayne is a general foreman and member of Boilermakers Local No. 13 in Philadelphia, Pa., and was honored for his work on two consecutive maintenance outages at Pennsylvania Power and Light’s (PPL) Brunner Island Power Station in York Haven, Pa. in the spring and fall of 2009. He was nominated for the award by Minnotte Contracting Corporation, which completed the work for PPL.

“Roger’s work on this project goes beyond the words ‘great’ and even ‘incredible’ to the category of ‘amazing,'” said Erik Galis, VP of Operations for Minnotte. “During the spring outage, Roger became a major contributor and an extension of our management team. His ideas to perfect complicated rigging systems and his ability to recognize talent and optimize crews enabled Minnotte to beat PPL’s expectations in terms of schedule and quality and, most importantly, led to the completion of over 322,000 man-hours without a single recordable injury.”

Roger started with the Boilermakers in 1989, graduated from the apprenticeship program in 1994 and took his first general foreman position in 1995. Roger has two sons and enjoys taking them hunting and fishing.

TAUC President Robert W. Santillo said Jayne exemplifies the best that union construction has to offer. “You’ve proven that you can work at the highest level and get the job done without sacrificing the core values of safety, quality, leadership and cooperation,” Santillo told Jayne at the award ceremony. “You’ve earned the respect not only of your fellow Boilermakers, but of the contractor and the customer as well.”

 The James J. Willis Craftperson of the Year Award recognizes outstanding labor-management cooperation and quality craftsmanship in the construction industry. Nominations are evaluated against five criteria:

  1. Schedule and Budget;
  2. Productivity;
  3. Cost Savings Innovation;
  4. Safety and Health; and
  5. Outstanding Craftsmanship.

Nominations are forwarded to our judge’s panel to be evaluated and ranked in each category. This year, the members of the Willis Award judge’s panel were:

  • Alan Black, Construction and Turnaround Services;
  • Charles “Bud” Burns, J.J. White; and,
  • William Ligetti, Ironworker Employers Association of Western Pennsylvania.

The award was presented at TAUC’s annual leadership conference, held May 11-14 at the Arizona Biltmore Resort and Spa in Phoenix, Arizona.

Share Online:
© Copyright 2024 TAUC. All Rights Reserved.
Site created by Top Shelf Design