Search Our Website


Sean Oberholzer Named 2021 Craftperson of the Year

July 7 2021

Sean Oberholzer has been named the 2021 TAUC James J. Willis Craftperson of the Year, sponsored by TAUC Legacy Partner Milwaukee Tool.

Sean is a member of Steamfitters Local 420 in Philadelphia. He was nominated by JJ White, Inc. for his exemplary performance as general foreman on the EDO Catalyst Expansion Project in Edison, NJ for client LyondellBasell. Watch the video above to learn more about Sean's incredible achievement and read our article about him here!

About the James J. Willis Craftperson of the Year Award

The James J. Willis Craftperson of the Year Award honors outstanding labor-management cooperation and quality craftsmanship in the union construction and maintenance industries. It is given to building trades members who have a gift for recognizing the vision of a project and can bring that vision to fruition in a professional manner.

The recognition program was originally created in 1989 as the Craftsman of the Year Award. TAUC changed the name in 2008 to memorialize James J. Willis, Sr. He was a dear friend and supporter of TAUC and an authentic leader within the union construction industry for more than five decades. Jim started out as an apprentice ironworker in 1945 at the age of just 16 and eventually rose to the rank of First General Vice President within the international union. He also served as President and Labor Co-Chairman of the National Maintenance Agreements Policy Committee, Inc. (NMAPC) from 1988-2000.

Jim was hugely influential within the union construction industry, and his steadfast commitment to fairness and cooperation was legendary. It is fitting that the award bearing his name honors a union worker who demonstrates unparalleled leadership and professionalism, because Jim exhibited the same qualities throughout his life.

The James J. Willis Craftperson of the Year Award recognizes five categories of achievement:

  • Safety and Health
  • Schedule and Budget Productivity
  • Cost Savings
  • Innovation
  • Outstanding Craftsmanship

Projects must be completed in the calendar year of the award. Nominations are forwarded to our judge's panel to be evaluated and ranked in each category. This year, the members of the James J. Willis Award Task Force were: Rusty Brown, Kiewit; Timothy Hoch, APM; Don Austin, Worley Industrial Services; and Dave Daquelente, Master Builders' Association of Western Pennsylvania.

Learn more about the Willis Award.

Share Online:
© Copyright 2024 TAUC. All Rights Reserved.
Site created by Top Shelf Design