Search Our Website


TAUC memorializes Willis with annual award

January 20 2009

WASHINGTON, D.C. – The Association of Union Constructors announced it plans to memorialize industry leader James J. Willis, Sr., by renaming its annual construction innovation award.

The James J. Willis Craftperson of the Year Award will be awarded to honorees who have demonstrated outstanding labor-management cooperation and quality craftsmanship in the construction industry.

Nominations are open to all crafts, on all projects completed in 2008, worked under any type of building trades collective bargaining agreement. Apprentices, journeymen, foremen and general foremen are eligible for nomination.

This award was established in 1989, as the Craftsman of the Year Award. Upon learning of the loss of one of the industry’s giants in December 2008, the TAUC Board of Directors unanimously approved a plan to rename the award.

James J. Willis, Sr., was a dear friend and supporter of The Association of Union Constructors and an authentic leader within the construction industry for more than five decades. Prior to his retirement as first vice president of the International Association of Bridge, Structural, Ornamental and Reinforcing Iron Workers, Willis was president of the National Maintenance Agreements Policy Committee, Inc. and co-chairman of the NMAPC Labor-Management Committee.

Share Online:
© Copyright 2024 TAUC. All Rights Reserved.
Site created by Top Shelf Design